Advice for Beginning an Herbal Garden

This forum is for discussions of all aspects and efforts to nurture Gaia - from gardening to tree and herb lore: from husbanding the forests to environmental activism and planting sacred groves.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
neopkwaii
OBOD Bard

Advice for Beginning an Herbal Garden

Postby neopkwaii » 19 Dec 2013, 19:00

I am looking to build/cultivate a medicinal herbal garden. I have been pining over herbal knowledge for quite a few years now, and finally am committed to getting my hands dirty.

I have a 5x15 foot box under my window I could plant in, or even start a palate garden.

My "goal" is to begin using plants for healthcare, switching from "drugs" to herbs. Teas, salves, decoctions, tinctures. My knowledge at the moment is pretty limited, and my application thereof even moreso.

I know that I want to plant Lemon Balm-but where else can I start?

I have been researching for hours on end, checking out susunweed.com, achs online classes, SacredPlantTraditions' 1 weekend a month intensive program....free online classes-but I'm finding I need a more...directed...approach. There is knowledge out there-it's just not streamlined in a way that I can begin using it.

Can anyone point me into a direction?

....I'm wondering if I just need to wait until Ovate.....
:acorns: Adrianna :acorns:
:trefoil: http://druvid.blogspot.com/ :trefoil:

Eistenfodd Category WinnerBelteinne 2014

DaRC
OBOD Ovate

Re: Advice for Beginning an Herbal Garden

Postby DaRC » 20 Dec 2013, 13:51