What is the nature of evil?

This Forum is dedicated to the Druidic search for the underlying meaning of life, the unifying nature of our common humanity, and our interconnectedness in the search for truth.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
gwendolyng

What is the nature of evil?

Postby gwendolyng » 28 Jun 2015, 02:14

So...
I've been tossing this around in my brain for the last several months without any kind of resolution. It occurred to me to post my internal debate here to get feedback.
I am at the place on my spiritual path where I am trying to reconcile certain concepts--particularly in relation to pagan practices. I grew up in a very religious family where there were no other beliefs taught or introduced. I know the whole christian belief about good/evil, God/Satan, and heaven/hell. I have decided that I don't believe the whole Christian story. I don't believe in the fantasy castle in the sky where God lives, nor in the brimstone and fires of eternal damnation.
I understand the concepts of light and dark and balance. But my question is, where does evil come from? Not the choices that men make--that is more about free will, and just plain old bad acts. I am talking about that spiritual darkness that is felt and experienced. If there is no Satan and no demons, then what is it? Dark fey? Dark energy? What? :anx: Any thoughts?
Gwendolyng
OBOD Druid

The smart ones sit back and let Karma do the work.
Joey Hernandez

aaron
OBOD Ovate

Re: What is the nature of evil?

Postby aaron » 28 Jun 2015, 03:38

Hi,
I just finished re-reading Dante's ""The Divine Comedy"
If you would like a vision of heaven and hell as seen by a Florentine poet, Dante is your man.