September '08 Seminar: Making A Sacred Book

Welcome to the Speakers' Corner, where members presented monthly seminars.

Moderators: Bracken, Oakapple

Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
serenarian
OBOD Ovate

September '08 Seminar: Making A Sacred Book

Postby serenarian » 01 Sep 2008, 12:23

For the last few years I have sought to combine the spiritual aspect of my Druid studies with the practical need of finding somewhere special to record my experiences of the journey. As such, and because I enjoy making things, I decided to try and make my own special book. I have no experience of bookbinding, and am usually not very good with my hands. However, I decided that none of this mattered, and tried my hand regardless. In this spirit I offer this seminar; so that those who, like me, had no idea where to start, can now try it out for themselves.

September Seminar: Making A Sacred Book

Introduction

Many people around the world have a love affair with the humble book. It is amazing that such a simple object can have such far-reaching effects. For those of a Pagan or Druidic path, books become, in many ways, the cornerstone of our learning. History, mythology and the rich experiences of our ancestors leap out at us; whether it is a non-fiction book, or consequently the imaginative constructs of a creative mind.