Following Your Path At Work

Gainful employment is a reality for most Druids. This forum is a place to discuss challenges and opportunities facing Druids in the workplace.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
ShadowWeaver

Following Your Path At Work

Postby ShadowWeaver » 06 Feb 2011, 16:23

I am interested in learning how others incorporate their personal beliefs with their jobs/careers. Physical examples might be carrying stones or herbs in a pocket; making an unobtrusive mini-altar on a desk; even the view one takes of one's job.

For instance, I am a substitute teacher in the U.S, so a permanent location isn't possible for me. I carry hematite for grounding around all that teenage energy as well as a rose quartz to enhance my compassion. I try to see the students as the Goddess and God in their impetuous maiden and youth roles. During our daily "moment of silence," I ground and center for the day. During the Pledge of Allegiance (I reside in the U.S.), I omit the phrase, "under God," or I merely place the letter "s" at the end, so it fits my path a bit more.

I know there are many spiritual routes to take on the Druid path, and my example illustrates my own brand of Neo-Paganism.

Please share!

Lily
OBOD Ovate

Re: Following Your Path At Work

Postby Lily » 06 Feb 2011, 16:37

I used to have a tiny "altar" at my previous job but now my desk is sort of free-standing so I'm afraid stuff might drop to the floor, but maybe I should have it again. It was a japanese coaster with a fish (which would obviously be pointed to the west :-)) and a nice pebble.