Ogham sticks

Subforum for the study of the Ogham
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
Cynon
OBOD Bard

Ogham sticks

Postby Cynon » 22 Aug 2011, 15:51

I'm very new to this, but I think I'd like to collect the ogham sticks myself rather than buy them. Is there a particular time of year when you should cut the sticks, e.g. when the sap is rising? Lucky for me, I've already got 4 of the trees growing in my garden.

Ruth /¦\
Searching for Avalon

Badger Bob
OBOD Druid

Re: Ogham sticks

Postby Badger Bob » 22 Aug 2011, 15:57

Some people make all sorts of magical theories about collecting wood for ogham but in reality you can easily make a set of ogham staves out of shop bought dowel. Mine are all willow that was taken from the tree-trimmings when it got its summer haircut and they work fine. I have another set of apple-wood ones that I made from branches that were blown off the tree in a gale and they work equally well. As long as you gather your wood responsibly and respectfully I don't see how it makes any difference. It is what you do with them once they are made that makes them magical.

Oakapple
OBOD Druid

Postby Oakapple » 22 Aug 2011, 16:03

I'm not sure about any "proper" time for collecting but it does seem a nice idea to have the "right "wood for each ogham. At least it means that you have actually had contact with all the trees.
At the moment I am searching my neighborhood for them so I know where my nearest trees are, I found an unexpected yew tree yesterday, very exciting!

Nothing's forgotten......nothing is ever forgotten

Lily
OBOD Ovate

Postby Lily » 22 Aug 2011, 18:29