Druid Monasticism?

This forum is for discussing all aspects of Druidry as a spiritual path.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
To copy a link just copy the url on the top left of your browser and then put in your post, highlight it and press the url button.
skepticskitchen
OBOD Bard

Druid Monasticism?

Postby skepticskitchen » 13 Jan 2016, 09:38

Hi All,

I've been a student of monasticism for about 10 years now and was an oblate at a Benedictine Monastery for a while before my deconversion. I've been deeply affected by that. It still holds a special place in my heart, and I would like to incorporate that into my Druidic spirituality. I was thinking of founding a monastic order within OBOD and was wondering what your alls feelings on the subject were.

I've been working on a Druids Liturgy of the Hours for some time now and should have it complete within the next few months. Mainly I am writing it for myself but I thought "how selfish could I be?" So I will publish it somewhere when it is done.

I was thinking that the Monastery could be a blending of Benedictine and Carthusian spirituality adapted for Druidry. The Benedictines have a Rule that has been governing their Monasteries for 1600 years now and the Carthusians don't have Monasteries or Abbots but live in "Charter Houses" with a Prior rather than an Abbot. So, my house could be a Charter House, as could any other members home. I was thinking of keeping the hours; Matins, Vigils, Lauds, Terce, Sext, None, Vespers, and Compline but adapted as a Druid ritual rather than a Catholic ritual and adopting gregorian chant for the prayers.