Geocentrism

A forum for the discussion of heuristic questions relating to Druidry using verifiable methods. Fo-fúair!
Life is short, the art long, opportunity fleeting, experiment treacherous, judgment difficult. — Hippocrates

Sturgeon's Law: Ninety percent of everything is crap.

This is a public forum, viewable by guests as well as members, and is cataloged by most search engines.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
envisager

Geocentrism

Postby envisager » 14 Apr 2012, 09:42

Hi there. I'm new to this forum. I should introduce myself: I have been working in renewable energy and sustainability for many years and am on various advisory panels, mostly related to sustainability. In particular, we have been developing renewable solar energy systems which are effectively based on a geocentric worldview.
Druidry emphasizes the sacredness of all life, and our part in the great web of creation. It cares passionately about the preservation and protection of the environment, and offers a worldview, which is ecological, geocentric, pragmatic, idealistic, spiritual and romantic.
Quote taken from: http://www.druidry.org/board/dhp/index.php

In the description of Druidry above, it is said that Druidry offers a geocentric worldview. Does this mean the same types of system as described by Plato, Ptolemy and Aristotle or does Druidy offer something intrinsically different?

Thanks!

Geocentric model: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geocentric_model

Lily
OBOD Ovate

Re: Geocentrism

Postby Lily » 14 Apr 2012, 11:05

the correct link would be

http://www.druidry.org/druid-way/what-d ... ts-druidry

and I would argue strongly that it has NOTHING to do with a patently false cosmology. I would say it means "put the earth first" synonymously with the word immediately preceding it in the quote.

ah. I searched in a dictionary.