The Moon and magic

A forum for the discussion of heuristic questions relating to Druidry using verifiable methods. Fo-fúair!
Life is short, the art long, opportunity fleeting, experiment treacherous, judgment difficult. — Hippocrates

Sturgeon's Law: Ninety percent of everything is crap.

This is a public forum, viewable by guests as well as members, and is cataloged by most search engines.
Forum rules
If you find a topic of interest and want to continue the discussion then start a new topic under The Hearthfire with a similar name and add a link back to the topic you want to continue.
Stone
OBOD Bard

The Moon and magic

Postby Stone » 21 Apr 2014, 03:27

I am still learning my way around the forum so can only hope I have placed thus post in the right place!

Before I start I have to say I am no academic :oops:

If you are someone who practices magic then why does the phase of the moon have any relevance to what you are doing? What evidence is there that the phase of the moon has any influence on workings or what people call spells? For instance I was taught that the dark moon is the most powerful but can find nothing to substantiate this at all. I understand about the moons influence on the earth etc but remain unconvinced that the moon phase has any relevance to workings but that may just be my genuine ignorance :blink:

Also, watching Shrek 2 last week and as he read the fairy godmothers potion bottle about obtaining true loves kiss at midnight he sighs "Why is it always midnight?" What is the relevance of midnight to magical workings, if any? Why should a working carried out in the middle of the night have more power than one carried out at any other time of day?

I would really welcome a discussion on this topic if anyone cares to join in :)
Best wishes

Stone

If you get up one more time than you fall, you will make it through. Chinese Proverb.

Whitemane
OBOD Ovate

Re: The Moon and magic

Postby Whitemane » 21 Apr 2014, 10:55