World tree question

Subforum for Welsh language studies and posts.
winding_branch

World tree question

Postby winding_branch » 14 Jul 2006, 10:04

Hi,

I'm new to druidry ( still waiting for my OBOD course materials). I have been researching Celtic symbolism. I have found refference to the world tree (Yggdragsil) of Irish Celtic tradition. I just wondered if anyone knows of the welsh equivalent? I also have an interest in Welsh Celtic knotwork and it's meanings so if anyone knows of any good sites please let me know.

Thanks  :)
winding_branch

Celtic Knight
OBOD Bard

Postby Celtic Knight » 14 Jul 2006, 10:47

I'm not sure of a specific Welsh equivalent, although the World Tree is a general Shamanic concept: a tree linking the 3 worlds, with its branches in the Upperworld, its trunk in the Middleworld and its roots in the Lowerworld.

I like this depiction from Chesca Potter's Greenwood Tarot:

Worldes Blysse

ImageImageImage

winding_branch

Postby winding_branch » 14 Jul 2006, 22:12

Hi Celtic knight,

Yes that is a very interesting picture that clearly marks the changes that the trees goes through at each season it is a lovely depictation. Thankyou for sharing it.

Blessings
winding_branch

Beith

Postby Beith » 15 Jul 2006, 01:31

Hi there winding branch - nice avatar ..looks like you have a few world trees in there too!

Just to clarify something to avoid some confusion - the Yggdragsil is not from Irish celtic tradition. The "world tree" (the sacred ash) belongs to Norse mythology. But Ireland did have very strong "cults" of treelore. The great trees of Ireland were known as "Bile"trees (pronounced "bil-eh" in English) - 5 of them were of very special significance (3 of them were ash trees, the others being oak and yew) and were recorded even in the 12th C Metrical Dindsenchas (a poetic text of person and place name /landscape feature lore).